Sign Up

Fill in the form below to join our mailing list.


The Plough Hotel

Customer Reviews

"A place to visit?" – June 2017

On the off chance we called in earlier this evening as we drove through Clanfield on our way home from Witney.

What a good find!

We were made very welcome by very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Although they were fully booked they found us a table and the food? We could wax lyrical about the food.! So very pleasant ... not over expensive; in fact, good value for the quality of what we had.

They have an amazing Gin pantry... go in have a sniff, choose the one you want and the staff do the rest. I'm not a great Gin drinker but tonight that changed: I took the bartenders advice and had the grapefruit Gin with Mediterranean tonic...fabulously refreshing drink! This place is top of our list for a revisit!!

"Gin tasting, dinner, bed and breakfast!" – June 2017

What a fantastic stay!!!! We were brought this stay as a present for Christmas and we're extremely excited to finally book our stay!

From the initial booking over the phone, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly! We then had to push the gin tasting back by half an hour on the Friday evening due to work commitments and again, this was no problem and they were very helpful!

We arrived on the Friday evening and shown to a beautiful room (number 7). It was huge! After a quick shower and change we made our way downstairs for the booked gin tasting session! It was brilliant, fascinating, interesting, informative and the gin was extremely tasty (of course) we learnt lots and chatted about the history, making and different types of gin! The connoisseur was so knowledgeable and passionate about his topic!

After lots of gin it was time for dinner which didn't disappoint. Quality food and beautifully presented, I was going to choose the pork tenderloin and belly, though they had run out. The waitress offered to speak to the chefs and I had another pork dish but with the wonderful accomplishments of the original dish that I had wanted! Pudding was again, fantastic and we ended the evening with a few drinks in the bar before bed!

After a peaceful nights sleep in the worlds largest bed we had a beautiful breakfast, continental as well as cooked, eggs were poached to perfection and one of the nicest black puddings I have ever tasted!

The hotel was beautiful, the gin tasting was fantastic, the food was delicious and the staff were so welcoming and friendly that I could not recommend a stay highly enough!

Thank you for making it suck a wonderful weekend and we hope to be able to come and blend a bottle of gin in the future!

Lucy and Steve.

"Lovely hotel" – June 2017

We stayed on a Sunday evening, on arrival the staff were all very helpful and friendly even carrying our bags up to our room. We took part in the gin tasting with Robin which was so informative and great fun, Robin absolutely made this so worth doing.

We had a lovely meal afterwards including the best hake I've ever tasted. We loved the bar and restaurant areas, it was all very relaxing and comfortable, we sat in the garden for a while, which was lovely, with gins that we had picked from the gin pantry, we were able to browse and sniff as much as we liked until we found the gins we liked - heaven !!!

The breakfast was also good, again the staff were very good.

As you can see I have only rated the hotel with 4 stars this is because there were a few issues with our room, (12).firstly the bathroom had a huge bath which was nice but it also had a shower that if you are over 5'7" you had difficulty getting under, also you are stood next to a window which isn't frosted and is overlooked by the road !!!!. Also everything else was spotless but there was an area behind the sink that obviously hadn't been cleaned. The worst thing was the bed, the mattress, pillows and bedding were lovely but it had slats under the mattress which were really noisy, it was so bad every time I turned over in the night I woke myself up!!!! We had good selection of teas and coffees etc but although a hairdryer was supplied I couldn't find anywhere to plug it into where there was a mirror to use, it was so bad I just didn't do my hair in the end, this really needs to be addressed, very important for us ladies!!!

I don't like having a moan, I hope this will be used in a constructive way and although I've had a moan we would definitely stay again but not in room 12!!

"Gin, food and sleep! Superb!" – June 2017

Our friends had booked here for a special occasion and had invited us along to join them for the gin experience and some good food. Really nice of them, we all had a great time!

Checked in on a Saturday afternoon and quickly retired to the bar for lunch and drinks. The hotel was so far very quiet with just a skeleton staff but food and drinks came quickly.

Our room was superb, a large dual aspect corner room overlooking the gardens at the rear with fire-escape type access. Large double four poster bed, large bathroom, in room pressing facilities and tea and coffee facilities. Clean and very well appointed. Very comfortable bed!

A small mixed group of us plus a few other guests for the gin experience at 6pm was fun and even educational. Run by the locally-known gin connoisseur, Martin Agius, founder of the Gin Pantry and Gin in a Tin. Our party were even invited to drink gin in tea-cups poured from a Hendricks tea pot! Never thought I'd see that!

Evening dinner followed which was completely in keeping with the entire establishment, superb service throughout.

Breakfast the next morning was equally as impressive and we all left extremely happy and contented on a Sunny Sunday morning. It was the perfect quintessentially english weekend!

Highly recommended.

"Gin Blending and weekend stay" - June 2017

The hotel was lovely and in beautiful grounds. We had booked this for the Gin Pantry gin blending. The hotel room was very comfortable and tastefully done, we loved the bathroom as well. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and by the end of the weekend we felt like friends. The food was fantastic and extremely enjoyable, most was from local suppliers and was very good value for money. The Gin Blending was fantastic and the connoisseur knowledgeable, we came away with 2 very different gins, plus we learnt to use our taste buds and saviour are drinks rather than just knocking it back.

We will definitely rebook.

"Superb!" - June 2017

Stayed overnight on a "Lazy Sunday Gin Tasting". Could not fault anything. The 4-poster bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and efficient, and the food was incredible.

Best of all was Robin's Gin-Fest: here was a guy who not only enjoyed his job but was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Gave us all a potted history of gin, explained the various types, kept it all light and humorous, and during which he delivered up 6 differing gins......... and wait to you see the 500+ gins in the Pantry!

"Wonderful gin tasting experience in a charming hotel" - May 2017

My boyfriend and I purchased the Lazy Sunday deal with the gin tasting experience on the recommendation of a friend. The booking process was slightly strange as you are taken to a different external website to purchase the voucher, and then must phone up to redeem it, but it really wasn't too much of a hassle.

The hotel is in a beautiful old building. We didn't upgrade our room but were still very happy with it - comfy bed with high quality sheets and a good-sized bathroom that was fitted out very nicely.

The service was excellent, and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The gin tasting experience is an absolute must, and we thoroughly enjoyed being taken through the history of gin and the different types with an expert.

The food was good and the atmosphere relaxing. We turned in quite early and could hear music from the bar until about 11:30pm or so, so if you're after a completely silent and remote relaxation weekend this isn't necessarily what you'll get, but it definitely didn't bother us at all.

For the price (£75 for the package plus extra for dinner and breakfast) it was honestly excellent. We would absolutely return and recommend it to our friends. Next time we'll try to take a but more advantage of the stunning surrounding scenery, but Bicester Village is about an hour's drive away if you want to stop by.

"Mother "ruined" with good nosh to boot!" - May 2017

Arriving for a belated Christmas treat for "'Er Indoors", this charming old country house bedecked in wisteria came highly recommended by a friend, for all who like old fashioned English home comfort and, of course LOADS OF GIN. Lovers of the juniper spirit will love the Gin Pantry with over 450 varieties, you can chose any yourself. Also, the blending board akin to children with Lego is great fun in making up your own cocktails. My young spouse of 63yrs young had great fun, what a mess! Rooms were roomy and comfy. Staff friendly, polite and attentive the restaurant team served up an excellent fare. Try the lamb or halibut specials! Set in a nice rural setting on edge of Oxfordshire and Wiltshire it is well worth a try, particularly if you want to ruin Mother!

“Just lovely” - April 2017

We stayed in February for my birthday and did the gin tasting which was so interesting and with Martin, the owner, who is fascinating. Already looking for a date to go back! Thanks to the Cotswold Plough for our lovely stay

“Its not Sunday - its Ginday !” - April 2017

There's nothing like a 11.30 gin blending! What a fab experience, learnt loads about gin, from our very knowledgeable host - blended some amazing botanicals to create our own gin and enjoyed a lovely relaxing lunch afterwards..what could be better. The resulting gin is sublime - in fact am going to have to order another bottle very soon

“A very good lunch time experience.” - April 2017

We went there for a birthday celebration. We were in a small group and virtually had our own dining area.

The food was excellent the service was swift and friendly. Following our very good meal we spent the rest of the day there sampling the Gin.

“Nice food, friendly service” - April 2017

Quiet weekday lunchtime. Total of five diners while we were there. Nice sunny garden and stone flagged interior. Lovely bream with mashed leeks and potatoes, perhaps a little pricy at £16. Good that you can get a carafe of wine. Prompt and friendly service. Would like to go back for one of the regular gin experiences and sample the accommodation.

“Lazy Sunday” - April 2017

We stayed here on the lazy Sunday deal and it was exactly that.

Whilst we was lucky enough to visit on the hottest day of the year it was a picture perfect setting to sit outside and watch the world go by.

 

We stayed in room 7 which we are told is one of the best rooms at the hotel. The bed is enormous! The whole room is very spacious and comfy.

 

We are in the restaurant in the evening. My partner did have to send his steak back as it came put blue as opposed to medium rare, but the staff were very apologetic about it and the steak came back in next to no time with a fresh side of chips.

 

We had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning so we can do the gin tasting

“Private dining with 18 friends and an overnight stay” - April 2017

For my 30th birthday a group of 18 of us spent a night at the Plough and had the most fabulous time.

 

I was lucky enough to have visited with my boyfriend twice before so had high hopes for the evening and it didn't disappoint.

The setting is beautiful, rooms clean and quirky and the food spectacular but I have to say what made the whole evening more enjoyable were the staff.

 

The guys behind the bar and waitressing staff were not only knowledgeable when guiding us through the gin pantry but they were patient and played along with my drunken friends.

 

Once the meal was over and it became clear the bar needed to close we were ushered into a green room full of games where we ordered some drinks and partied into the night.

We awoke to a large table laid up for a delicious breakfast. I love this place and will definitely come back.

“Lovely Day For GIN Afternoon Tea” - April 2017

Four of us went here for Afternoon Tea, two of whom had the Gin Teapot.

The lady serving us was very friendly and knowledgeable and showed us the amazing Gin Pantry.

There was a lovely cosy bar which tempted us but as it was a lovely hot day in April we decided to sit in the beautiful garden, the walls were clad in Wisteria. 

Nothing was too much trouble and the sandwiches and cakes were lovely.

 

The Gin came in a lovely shaped teapot with china cups and saucers.

It was something a little bit different and we will definitely do it again soon.

 

There are several different options which would make lovely presents. Brilliant afternoon.

“Stunning location for 21st Birthday celebrations” - April 2017

A family party of 12 to celebrate our grandson's 21st Birthday. It was perfect…

 

Lovely large rooms, private dining for dinner and breakfast, fabulous food and the staff were wonderful.

 

They were welcoming, friendly and professional, coping with our messy table decorations of table confetti and balloons, boisterous younger family members and dietary and mobility needs of us oldies.

 

Even accommodated a lively egg hunt in the beautiful garden before we left the next morning.

 

It just could not have been better and we will certainly be returning for future family reunions. Thank you so much, Sue and Robin.

“Lazy Sunday Gin tasting” - April 2017

We had a lovely evening at the Cotswold Plough hotel. The gin tasting experience was very informative and we tasted some interesting gins - including Saffron, Hendricks, Rhubarb and Strawberry flavoured gins (rhubarb being the favourite!), after learning about the gin making process and a bit about the history of gin - lots of influential women involved! The meal afterwards was delicious and we carried on tasting one or two more of the 450 gins in the pantry - it was a difficult choice, but aided by the helpful friendly staff. The room was very comfortable, though a little too warm even with the radiators off and the windows flung open (in April!). Wifi existed, but access to internet did not work. 4G reception very patchy - though we required neither! I can thoroughly recommend the eggs benedict for breakfast. We'll be back soon hopefully to taste some more of those gins!

"Wonderful Gin" - MARCH 2017

I took my boyfriend as a birthday treat . I bought the fever tree Friday offer then upgraded to the four poster bed. The gin tasting board was great fun and then we headed through to the dining room . The meal was delicious and I was pleasantly surprised that the majority of the meals could be gluten free , nothing was too much trouble.. Then back to the bar to continue sampling runs from the extensive pantry . All of the staff were wonderful .After a comfortable night we headed down for a lovely breakfast . Worth fully exploring their website as lots of offers and experiences. We will definitely be returning.

"Gin Trip" - MARCH 2017

Wife had bought me a gin blending experience for a "big birthday". Where to start? Room was very comfortable with usual facilities; an enormous bed (we could have had 2 more friends to join us!), but - for us - really far too soft. Downstairs: the Gin Pantry is a bit like being dead, and going to heaven, (though outclassed by Gintoneria in Murcia). The dinner menu is limited, (mid-week, wintertime),but good. Prices: top-dollar! Gin blending experience was great: Martin really knows his stuff.

"A fabulous 50th birthday gift." - MARCH 2017

From Gin tasting to a Monday morning walk along the Thames a wonderful relaxing end of a weekend. Learnt lots about gin, improved my palate . Delicious dinner with one of those menus that was so good it was hard to chose from and a wonderfully comfortable Four poster bed. Loved the old commode as the kettle holder. Delightful staff and an owner who is passionate about his gin knowledge and making you feel welcome. I would recommend you take a Monday off and treat someone you love.

"Lovely place for a lazy weekend" - MARCH 2017

We spent a 2 night break here because it was geographically central for our group of very old friends. The Cotswold Plough did not disappoint, with its numerous small rooms and corners where we could commandeer some big settees and sit round reminiscing over an almost obligatory gin. Before ordering a gin & tonic, one needs to do a little research as there is no such thing here; many gins and many tonics make it an adventure. Our room was spacious with a lovely big bed and the food was extremely good. I have noted other reviewers complaining at the small menu choice, but all the dishes were very good and all the main bases were covered.

"Just lovely" - MARCH 2017

We stayed in February for my birthday and did the gin tasting which was so interesting and with Martin, the owner, who is fascinating. Already looking for a date to go back! Thanks to the Cotswold Plough for our lovely stay.

"Its not sunday - its Ginday !" - MARCH 2017

There's nothing like a 11.30 gin blending ! What a fab experience, learnt loads about gin, from our very knowledgeable host - blended some amazing botanicals to create our own gin and enjoyed a lovely relaxing lunch afterwards.. what could be better. The resulting gin is sublime - in fact am going to have to order another bottle very soon

"A very good lunch time experience." - MARCH 2017

We went there for a birthday celebration. We were in a small group and virtually had our own dining area. The food was really excellent the service was swift and friendly. Following our very good meal we spent the rest of the day there sampling the Gin.

"17th Century mansion." - FEBRUARY 2017

We experienced a wonderful couple of days in this quirky 17th century hostel. Our double room was a little small but clean and full of character. The staff were really friendly, the food excellent. The prepared to order breakfast has to rank as one of the best … ever. The pub is known for its extensive list of gins. The owner Martin is a master Gin blender. If you're a Gin lover you'll no doubt find a new Gin to taste in the Gin Pantry.

"Fever Tree Friday" - FEBRUARY 2017

Myself and husband stayed on a Friday night and took advantage of the Fever Tree Friday deal which included a 1 nights stay, dinner, breakfast and a gin tasting board. We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Our room was large with a big bathroom, very clean and one of the nicest beds I have ever slept in. The entrance, bar and restaurant were really lovely and quirky, lots of wood and cosy seating. Our gin board was good fun and interesting blending our own Gin. The Gin Pantry is absolutely fab - being Gin fans we could have spent all evening in their looking at all the Gin's. The food at dinner and breakfast was very well cooked and presented - very nice, top quality ingredients and great selection at both. Staff were all really friendly and accommodating. Very special and relaxing night away. Thank you!

"An excellent base for visiting the Cotswolds" - FEBRUARY 2017

We stayed here for two nights as part of a special surprise birthday get together & we could not have been treated better. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food was very well prepared and totally enjoyed and the breakfast was enough to see you through the day - well presented and very enjoyable. The room was very spacious and quiet as we faced the garden - it may be a little noisy early in the morning in the summer months if you slept with a window open. The bed was very comfortable which enable us to sleep very well. Thank you The Cotswold Plough!

"Great hotel with brilliant gin selection" - FEBRUARY 2017

We would bought the Gin Tasting experience as a Christmas present and decided to make a short break of it and stay at the hotel overnight.

During the booking process, the staff were very helpful in trying to arrange a date for the gin experience, and excellent customer service carried on throughout our visit.

The room was large and well appointed, with a very well stocked drinks tray. The bed was comfortable, but we would have preferred slightly firmer pillows (but this is a personal preference).

Dinner and breakfast were of very good quality, with a range of choices, and dietary preferences were taken into account.

The gin experience was fantastic - Robin was well informed, and a fantastic character with so much enthusiasm for his subject.

The gin pantry is something to behold, with something like 400 gins - we could have easily stayed for many more nights and still only made a moderate dent in the collection.

We will certainly come back

"A one night stand" - FEBRUARY 2017

We have just had an amazing experience. Gin tasting and over night stay. From when we first went through the door to when we left. The staff were excellent Friendly - helpful - nothing too much trouble. The gin tasting presented by a very knowledgeable and witty connoisseur my favourites the initial jenever and the botanist or was it the Berkeley Square. The food all of us had an excellent meal - what was in that sauce with the duck?? Breakfast just finished the experience perfectly.

I would not mind coming back and doing it all over again!!

Just one request Please get some nice balloon glasses to serve your wonderful Gins in .

"If I could give 4 1/2 stars I would." - FEBRUARY 2017

Let's be clear this is a very good product, my '1/2 star' deduction would by some seem harsh, the reasons why later.

But let's talk about the good things first.

The is a 17c pub come restaurant come small hotel located around 10 miles (almost) South East of the Cotswold village of Burford and close to RAF Brize Norton.

Low beams, an open fire, wonky walls and in the bar sofas and lots of dark wood ticks every box you could imagine.

We were visiting to participant in a Gin tasting which in itself was an awesome experience.

Check in was relaxed and friendly. We were taken to our room (room 2) located on the ground floor in a modern block at the rear.

The room was large with windows on two sides, a huge bed, sofa, tea & coffee making facilities which sat on a nice slate stand. Bathroom large with separate shower and bath. Nice room if not slightly on the warm side.

They have something called a Gin Pantry with umpteen number of Gins for sale.

I was there for a Gin tasting, 8 of us sat around table and enjoyed an hour plus of a talk from an external speaker who gave us a pottered history of Gin plus of course some Gin. Robin was excellent and I would recommend the experience to anyone who enjoys the tipple.

Post tasting my wife and I went through to dinner, which was very enjoyable, the food tasty and filling.

On the evening we stayed (a Friday) the bar clientele consisted of a mixture of hotel residents (many of whom were in the Tasting) and a few locals. My wife's observation that the locals were from the 'better side of the street' and that probably the more 'regular' villagers were almost certainly in the pub over the road.

If you are a Brit you will understand the expression 'Old money'...the locals here were very much 'old money'.

Breakfast the following morning was very good, with substantial servings for the cooked option.

So what crime or crimes has caused a loss of a star (or 1/2 star if I could give 1/2 stars)?

Two points, the lesser of the two was the dinner menu. It was a little too brief, the least expensive item was a burger at £13, then a few dishes between around £15-£18 and then a steak at £25 - which felt expensive in the circumstances. The menu could have done with a couple more options including a reasonably safe chicken option which wasn't present.

My main gripe such as it is was around the speed of service and the resulted 'warmth' of the servers. From overhearing a phone conversation we believe there was an unplanned shortage of staff. We waited an age for our drinks with dinner which only appeared when a young lad serving hand the presence of mind to ask us what we had ordered.

The staff were busy and trying to cope, they asked the right questions, gave the right responses and used all the words you expect to be used... however with some of the staff it seemed a little perfunctory. I would hope on a better day this would feel more genuine.

In summary, this is a good product with a very interesting offer. All the stuff around Gin is a real USP.

Would I return, very much yes.

"A Sunday stay with Gin tasting" - FEBRUARY 2017

We stayed at The Cotswold Plough overnight to take advantage of their lazy Sunday hotel stay with a couples' gin tasting. It was an incredible deal, and offered amazing value for the standard of accommodation, convenient location to nearby Burford, and an exceptional and enlightening gin tasting experience whereby we sampled 6 unique gins under the expert guidance of a knowledgeable and charismatic gin connoisseur.

Our stay was a special occasion to celebrate my boyfriends' birthday and we couldn't fault the service or the quality we received. Every member of staff was pleasant, helpful and courteous. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated in a traditional but contemporary style, and the food was exquisite too.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Cotswold Plough to others, or to stay here in the future myself again. It really was a wonderful experience, made all the more pleasant by the great selection of gins on offer and the friendly and welcoming staff we encountered on our stay. Don't hesitate to stay or eat here, and if you get the option do the gin tasting do. It's a must for gin fans and was a real highlight of our visit.

"Perfect central point to explore the Cotswolds" - FEBRUARY 2017

Beautiful and quaint 300 year old Inn with very comfortable traditional rooms with everything a guest could need. Free wifi (unreliable in the area) CD, DVD, players. Large flat screen TV. Good quality bathrobes. Hairdryer room phone. Well heated for winter visitors.

Good bar atmosphere with the quirky addition of a Gin Pantry. Ordering a G&T here is a unique experience not to be missed.

The restaurant is very plain and unwelcoming. Food is adequate but not special. Service was good willing and very friendly from the moment of arrival. The gardens and outdoor areas are comfortable and must be beautiful in summer days and evenings.

We most certainly would stay again

"One Night Experience (with Gin)" - FEBRUARY 2017

This was a Christmas present for a Gin experience and overnight stay at The Plough. We arrived early afternoon and were taken straight to our room, with ample space and a very comfortable 4poster bed. The Gin experience had been pre booked online to start at 6pm and lasted just over an hour.

A very knowledgeable host explained all about its history and difference blends as we sat tasting them one by one, but not all of their stock as in the Gin Pantry there must have been over 300 different bottles from all over the world, quite fascinating.

The evening ended with a fabulous evening meal, the menu is varied and the food was absolutely delicious and that's something coming from me as a dedicated cook and foodie. Between us we each had different dishes and all were as good as each other. Breakfast the next day didn't disappoint either.

I would highly recommend this Hotel for its restaurant, ambience, delightful staff, comfortable rooms, cosy bar and attention to detail as well as being pet friendly as we had our dog with us for his first ever hotel visit and he settled in just fine. The only comment I could possibly think of is as they are pet friendly maybe a bowl of water outside the front door or in the bar would have been an added bonus, but that really is a minor detail. Thank you

"Great evening catching up with long standing friends" - FEBRUARY 2017

Having lived in the area for over 40 year I cannot believe we have not been to the Plough what a great evening, pre dinner drinks in the charming bar and fabulous food in the restaurant- many thanks and we will be back.

"Gin Blending with a master." - FEBRUARY 2017

The mission, to create a perfect Gin from a selection of botanicals under expert guidance.

The botanicals were laid out on the table and I had to smell each one and decide whether I liked the smell and if it could be included in the final receipt. The botanicals were placed in groups of sweetness bitterness and blenders. The final selection was added to a base juniper spirit under expert guidance as the perfect gin was created. A bottle of gin was created and the receipt added to the library so that it can be re-created in the future. A unique Gin experience!

"Friendly pub - many gins!" - FEBRUARY 2017

We came with some friends and had a lovely evening by the open fire. Staff were very friendly. The gin collection is amazing and the staff are very knowledgeable to help you try something new. We only ate a snack but the food looks nice and was not unreasonably priced.

"Amazing dinner" - FEBRUARY 2017

From start to finish, the food was wonderful. Had a great meal and some amazing gin to top it off. Well worth a visit.

"Loved it" - FEBRUARY 2017

Wow, this is amazing. I absolutely loved it here. The food was good and the creating gin experience was fantastic. Really enjoyed myself. Try the Gin Pantry. There are so many gins to try. If you like Gin go you must come here exceptional.

"Brilliant gin showcase" - JANUARY 2017

What a lovely Christmas present from my husband … amazing selection of gin so many to choose from. Fantastic food as well.

We were advised to have the superior room which had a lovely big comfy bed shame the bathroom was a little tired and could do with a little tlc.

We had a lovely 3 course meal and yummy breakfast too no complaints here.

The gin pantry was amazing with so many gins to smell and try.

We also had the gin mixing board which was lovely, shame it wasn't served in some nice gin glasses rather than a wine glass, with a nice glass it would have been perfect.

I am a little picky of how a gin is served and with which garnish and tonic would have been nice if the staff knew a little bit more about which mixers work with which gin.

Really enjoyed my stay and would return with friends.

"Lazy Sunday night" - JANUARY 2017

Well what can I say, a thoroughly delightful stay. We booked the lazy Sunday deal, a deal I have to say I didn't believe upon first reading, a room for nothing!! Yes, that right a room free of charge, the only monies paid cover your evening meal and breakfast in the morning.

Upon arrival we were met by a charming young man called Patrick who was very welcoming, he asked if we needed help with our luggage, we declined and promptly went to our room. I had upgraded to one of the four poster rooms (will always ask for room 3 in future visits) not a disappointment at all, very charming.

We decided we would go for an afternoon drink in the bar, again Patrick made sure we were looked after, he had a great manner, very talkative and informative about the gins on offer, although impossible to know everything as they have so many!!

We ate in the restaurant a very agreeable bottle of white was taken with a very nice meal.

Breakfast in the morning was adequate, some items in our opinion were overcooked, but not so much they were inedible. As with most of this site, these are matters of opinion and I am sure we can all find something to moan about, however nothing would stop us booking again, so much so we are already planning another trip with friends.

Thanks to you all again, a very pleasant stay.

"Family stay" - JANUARY 2017

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting friends in the area. Lovely historic building with a great bar and lovely roaring fire. Stayed in a charming room with a four-poster bed. Breakfast in the morning was nice and the staff friendly. We had dinner and my wife enjoyed the venison and our daughter had the fish and chips. I had the steak which was ok but the chips were a let down for me! The hotel is 45 minute drive to the train station and another 45 mins on the train to London so a day trip is achievable. Would definitely stay again.

"Great for 'Do's'" - JANUARY 2017

I was just at a big family do there with plenty of guests. It was lovely. Great service, lovely food. Really accommodating of the 'fussy eaters' too. They have budvar and hooky on tap. It's a lovely venue too. I would definitely recommend. Talk to the owner to sort out your event.

"A comfortable stay" - JANUARY 2017

We enjoyed one of their 'lazy Sunday' offers. What might otherwise be a pricey stay, the result was quite good value and enjoyable. Rooms seem comfortable and generally fairly quiet and the bar offers a pleasant and quite characterful dining venue. Food was actually pretty good and the chef was able to accommodate minor personal adjustments without any drama. Staff were all charming and helpful. Breakfast were exceptionally good for a small hotel with lovely fruit compote and decent yogurt as well as well cooked options.

"Friendly Staff" - JANUARY 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Plough - a return after 40 years! We used to live in the next village and used the Plough as a comfortable base to revisit old haunts.

The bedroom and bathroom were nice, although we would have preferred a super king bed rather than a king size.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on our two evenings there. The cooking was very good although it would have been nice to have a differing menu on each night of our stay. Breakfasts were wonderful - would recommend the eggs Benedict.

The gin selection cupboard is beyond belief and we tried a few! You can also have gin tastings and blend your own gin.

"Fever Tree Friday" - JANUARY 2017

Myself and husband stayed on a Friday night and took advantage of the Fever Tree Friday deal which included a 1 nights stay, dinner, breakfast and a gin tasting board. We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Our room was large with a big bathroom, very clean and one of the nicest beds I have ever slept in. The entrance, bar and restaurant were really lovely and quirky, lots of wood and cosy seating. Our gin board was good fun and interesting blending our own Gin. The Gin Pantry is absolutely fab - being Gin fans we could have spent all evening in their looking at all the Gin's. The food at dinner and breakfast was very well cooked and presented - very nice, top quality ingredients and great selection at both. Staff were all really friendly and accommodating. Very special and relaxing night away. Thank you!

"Dinner and overnight stay with group of friends" - DECEMBER 2016

We stayed on a Saturday night with a group of 13 - an annual get together that has been going on for many years, staying at different locations each year. We had a wonderful weekend, with dinner in a private room. The food was delicious and service excellent. We didn't take advantage of the full gin-tasting experience - but some of the group took the opportunity to visit the gin pantry and try one or two before dinner! There had been a mix up resulting from a change of menu in the weeks leading up to the evening, but apart from that the hotel met and exceeded our expectations and contributed to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

"An amazing place" - DECEMBER 2016

What can I say but AMAZING the staff were very friendly helpful and attentive The meal was amazing the steak was cooked to perfection 👍👍 I absolutely love gin so when I realised there speciality was gin I was over the moon They have a gin pantry that it full of gin bottles I felt like a child in a sweet shop not knowing what to try ,what an experience I would definitely return and definitely recommend 👍👍 I wish we had the same place nearer to were I live.

"One of the best" - DECEMBER 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay with friends at the Cotswold Plough. The hotel is in a truly beautiful rural location and the room was excellent; immaculately clean, well equipped, warm and with a very comfortable bed. The food and service in the restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced. Without exception the staff were very friendly and efficient. I can recommend The Plough unreservedly, we have already booked our next stay.

"Fantastic break with added Gin tasting" - DECEMBER 2016

Wonderful from start to finish - welcoming staff, great afternoon tea, amazing gin tasting with Robin, lovely evening meal, and delicious breakfast. Many thanks!

"Good quality food" - DECEMBER 2016

Good quality food and nice atomosphere. The gin pantry has to be seen to be believed never seen so many different gins. Agin tastings and make you own available. Menu is a bit liimited but all very tasty.

"Great food and a super choice of Gin!" - DECEMBER 2016

I had supper with a group of friends on a Monday night. We all chose from the Christmas set menu and everyone enjoyed the meal. The Classic Christmas Meal was plentiful, the steaks were well cooked and all the puddings were yummy. We were very well looked after in a private dining room with cosy fire. The restaurant is recommended in the 2016 Michelin guide so is a safe bet! I am very keen to return with my family for Sunday lunch and probably an overnight stay on one of their Gin Tasting deals. Highly Recommended.

"Lovely lunch" - NOVEMBER 2016

Me and my fiancé came here for Sunday lunch and it was absolutely great. Very nice beef, good dessert and relaxed atmosphere. Thoroughly recommended.

"Lazy Sunday" - NOVEMBER 2016

Great concept - lazy Sunday Food brilliant, gin cellar even better What a way to have a simple weekend getaway with your partner. Fantastic surroundings lovely small Cotswolds village, can't wait for a summer lazy Sunday.

"Excellent Gin Blending Experience" - NOVEMBER 2016

Finally managed to get to use my birthday present of a Gin Blending Experience at the Plough with the expert Martin Agius - owner of the Plough - sharing with my good friend and Gin Buddy, and helped by the wives. We spend the best part of an hour and a half, smelling, tasking and blending our own Gin, under the careful, helpful and expert eye (and nose) of Martin. By the end we had each produced a very personal Gin and were able to take a bottle of it away, leaving behind the "recipe", capable of being re-ordered again, and again. After several other Gins form the "Gin Pantry", we had an amazing meal in the restaurant. After a very restful night, we had breakfast, which was equally as good. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and experience to anyone.

"Nice meal and a lovely setting" - NOVEMBER 2016

Stopped here after a summers evening walk. Great weather for sitting outside and thall dog was welcome. The food was delightful. Good wine list and nice choice of local beers. We will return. Downside; no cushions on outdoor seating, would be a great improvement and we'd have sat there longer... perhaps even another bottle of wine!

"A great place for an evening or lunchtime meal or a celebration" - NOVEMBER 2016

This hotel is my local, they change their menu every day, it is always imaginative and a lovely surprise. You can have almost a private room for a romantic meal or a small celebration with a few friends. They also have rooms available which is good for guests. Sundays are good as they have gin tasting and the perfect lazy day if you wish.

"Lovely hotel and staff" - NOVEMBER 2016

We had a lovely evening with a 'Fever Tree Friday' deal and were not disappointed. Our gin blending tray was interesting and loved looking round the Gin Pantry and sampled a few tasty gins! The meal we had was very tasty and will be back even just for the food...delicious. All the staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Our room was perfect for us and was a lovely looking room and we slept soundly and then had a great breakfast.

"Lovely quiet lunch in beautiful surroundings" - OCTOBER 2016

After a recommendation I stopped in for lunch. The venue is beautiful, service is good, food excellent and pudding are lovely. I looked at a couple of reviews prior to going and if you want fast food go somewhere else BUT if you want to enjoy a unstressed quality meal in a beautiful old building with nice helpful staff, who tend to you rather than bother you then The Plough is a perfect Cotswold venue.I intend to return for diner and feel the 98 mile round trip will be worth it. There are times you eat at a price but sometimes you pay a little more and are rewarded...this is one of them...the wine list is good too with cheaper wines a little pricey but the better wines were really quite reasonable. The lasting impression I took away was that the Hotel really appreciate the business and being shown to our table by the manageress of the Hotel and her personal input in making my 80 year old mother comfortable with our table and her position was service above and beyond....thank you...Jon

"lovely quiet hotel- cosy and welcoming" - OCTOBER 2016

so much gin! what an interesting place, we stayed for DBB and gin blending. The hotel was clean, warm and welcoming- the staff were helpful and professional. Gin blending was a great experience, and to explore the gin pantry was awesome. Dinner and breakfast, very good- all in all an excellent stay- and we will return and recommend.

"Excellent dining experience" - OCTOBER 2016

Our group of eight was booked into a private dining room for dinner on a Friday evening. The establishment is very impressive, the staff were impeccable and the food was excellent. Altogether, this made for a wonderful evening. Highly recommended.

"Fantastic dining experience in a friendly environment of a 15th century manor house" - OCTOBER 2016

Beautiful old building packed with character - flagstone floors, inglenook fireplaces, ancient beams, old vontagew tin toys in the playroom, and various different dining areas. Martin the owner is wonderful, and his staff are equally so - attentive, polite, and like the old sitcom Cheers, they remember your name. Food is superb - fish and chips, or the locally-sourced steaks from an award-winning butcher - are to die for. And they do a great value deal where you stay in the hotel for free but have to fill your face with food and wine. Tough job and one for romantic couples....

"Gin tasting and dinner - a great combination" - OCTOBER 2016

We booked the gin tasting experience which involved 2 hours in the company of Robin, our guide through the history of the drink and the various flavours, infusions, combinations and possibilities. Different tonics were tried along with 6 or so gins, and all in a very convivial atmosphere. This is a lovely experience, really good fun and interesting too. Then to the dining room where we ate as well as we had drunk. Good value, great food and a lovely environment. We would all recommend getting ginny at The Plough!

"Want to visit a typical Cotswold house and wine and dine on the best" - SEPTEMBER 2016

A delightful position set in a typical Cotswold village. The menu changes frequently offering the best of local produce all served in a homely and an unforgettable atmosphere. They have a great bar and gin pantry. There are a number of small dining rooms where a party or a romantic meal can be catered for.

"beautiful and relaxing" - SEPTEMBER 2016

birthday visit; organised gin tasty; great activity; 4 poster room; comfy bed; great service at dinner and good choice of food on the menu; our mains of the fish and guinea fowl were fabulous. best tasting fish we have had for long time. my favourite place is their gin pantry with the many wonderful choices (heaven); breakfast next day was another great choice and very efficient service - the do gin tasting packages on Sundays - but these are popular - we intend to return :)

"Relaxing Lunch" - SEPTEMBER 2016

We stopped by for a quick lunch and everything was pleasant. The burger was excellent, as was the service. The grounds and outside gardens are very nice and another couple was served lunch in one of the gardens. Thank you.

"Late summer break" - SEPTEMBER 2016

The room was large comfortable and very clean to chill out and relax, food was very good and taisty, very enjoyable stay useful location to visit the Cotswolds yet from a quiet location, we found the staff very helpful.

"Super food and room" - SEPTEMBER 2016

We stayed here for a weekend and very glad that we did. We went for the superior room which was excellent, very clean and tidy in good condition with nice views over the garden. It was very peaceful. There was also a TV, sofa and table in the room along with decent tea and coffee. It was very relaxing and pleasant. The morning breakfast included was great, with a nice selection to choose from (full english with quality meat, smoked salmon/scrambled eggs, eggs benedict to name a few of the options) In the evening we tried the bar, had some drinks from the gin pantry - which has an excellent selection of gins. The pint of ale I had tasted good. The bar is a pleasant space to be in. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was fabulous. The staff were professional and did a great job, and the food was really special, a good selection on the menu. Well presented, decent portion sizes and very tasty. A good selection of wines available by the glass. All in all well worth the price we paid.

"Long delays in serving food and mean with food when it came" - SEPTEMBER 2016

Went as guest for dinner Ages between courses and Fish not fresh and in inferior batter Roasted lamb unaccompanied by any potatoes or veg. Lemon sole tiny I am afraid this hotel pretends to be special but while charging top dollar does not deliver in the dining room.

"Perfect get-away" - SEPTEMBER 2016

We stayed for 1 night on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis. Our room (with a four-poster bed) was very comfortable, clean and well-equipped, with a lovely view of the garden. Dinner in the evening was excellent, with delicious food and unhurried but attentive service. Breakfast, too, was plentiful and tasty. The historic building itself was beautiful. All the staff were efficient and friendly. There was plenty to do and see in the surrounding area. For us, this was a last-minute get-away and what we wanted more than anything was peace & quiet, with good food in comfortable surroundings. This hotel exceeded our expectations on all fronts and we would love to return.

"Gin, Gin and yet more Gin!" - SEPTEMBER 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights on 14th & 15th August. We were only meaning to stay for a 'lazy Sunday' but once we found that there was a Gin Pantry with over 420 varieties of gin we had to book an extra night. And what a stay we had!!! Ambience - warm and welcoming. Staff - utterly delightful and amongst the most helpful ever. Food - excellent, particularly the crab bisque and who would have thought carrot soup could ever taste so sublime! Breakfast - spoilt for choice and superb quality. Room - everything one needs but limited by space understandably as it was in the eaves. The Gin!!! well, we are truly converts, have now binned the vodka and filled our cupboards with gin. We were unable to book the 'official gin experience' so with the assistance of an exceedingly knowledgeable and helpful barman we had our own unofficial gin experience. We have no negative comments to make whatsoever and look forward to returning. On a final note, a huge belated thank you to Emily for posting my absent-mined husband's camera back to us!!. We raise our glasses of gin to all at the Plough. Thank you.

“Charming small hotel, a little different especially if you enjoy good food & gin!” - AUGUST 2016

We enjoyed our stay a couple of weeks ago at this charming small hotel very much, Martin and team friendly & helpful. Very good food, the menu is interesting with some unusual combinations and fascinating gin tasting a must.

“Extremely pleasant” - AUGUST 2016

We stopped by at the Plough Hotel this afternoon for an afternoon tea, which was really lovely the sandwiches were very tasty, with a good selection of smoked Salmon and cream cheese, Ham and mustard, egg and cucumber all of which were very pleasant, also homemade scones with cream and Jam, we really couldn't fit in the selection of cakes but the lovely member of staff wrapped them for us and we have bought them home. We would recommend that you go here, we intend to return for Sunday lunch, all in all a very pleasant experience.

“Supper After Countryfile Live at Bowood” - AUGUST 2016

We stopped by at the Plough Hotel this afternoon for an afternoon tea, which was really lovely the sandwiches were very tasty, with a good selection of smoked Salmon and cream cheese, Ham and mustard, egg and cucumber all of which were very pleasant, also homemade scones with cream and Jam, we really couldn't fit in the selection of cakes but the lovely member of staff wrapped them for us and we have bought them home. We would recommend that you go here, we intend to return for Sunday lunch, all in all a very pleasant experience.

“Lovely setting!!” - AUGUST 2016

First visit to this hotel for me!! My husband has stayed here once before and recommended it to me! The room is really nice!! Staff very friendly and helpful ! Evening dinner was very good quality! So far a very calm place to be!! Also very accommodating to allergies! Which is a most for me!! Recommend this hotel!

“Beautiful, relaxing retreat” - AUGUST 2016

We had a Lunch, Bed & Breakfast package here which was just wonderful.
The hotel and gardens are so picturesque, just like an old fashioned chocolate box lid.
The Building is quirky and quaint and has many original features. The Gin Pantry is fabulous. Lots of little known gins to taste, as well as well known and top class ones
The food we had was fresh and delicious. I especially enjoyed the duck eggs.
Our 4 poster room was very comfortable and exceptionally quiet. We both enjoyed a very good nights sleep.
It is pricey, but well worth it - very romantic.

“As good as ever but lacks seating to relax” - AUGUST 2016

A return visit and we still love this place. The building is beautiful and full of Cotswold charm. They have a gin pantry, which is amazing and offers over 400 gins! I can highly recommend the rhubarb and ginger!. The rooms are individual, spotless and well equipped and the beds are very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the food for dinner and breakfast was delicious. Our only slight criticism is that there is very little comfortable seating where you can sit and relax. When the weather is good there is a lovely garden area but when you need to be inside space is limited.

“Lovely traditional hotel” - AUGUST 2016

Beautiful, dog friendly room with four poster bed. Lovely welcome, friendly staff and good breakfast. Very cosy sitting in the bar checking out the gins. Excellent meal and really good menu. Very dog friendly as dog invited to join us for dinner!

“Fantastic food again. The Plough has never disappointed” - AUGUST 2016

Dinner for four, midweek. Very quiet, which might have made us concerned that we would get 'midweek kitchen' treatment. On the contrary, the food was up to The Plough's very high standards.
Interesting, varied menu Good beers on draught. I'm not a wine drinker but those that are were happy with the white (by the glass) and red that they chose.
This is the latest in probably a dozen or so visits for us, and we have never been anything other than delighted. Coming back in October for the Gin Experience and dinner

“Amazing welcome” - AUGUST 2016

We have just had an overnight stay at the Cotswold Plough. We booked the stay because we had a Hendriks G&T afternoon tea at the hotel. Both the afternoon tea and the stay was brilliant. We had a superior room which was huge with a large bathroom , a sofa if you wanted to relax and watch TV and a superking bed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the afternoon tea was lovely with everything homemade. The breakfast was also lovely with a good choice including smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and eggs Benedict. All in all a wonderful stay, now working out when we can go again.

“Lovely location, food and gin” - AUGUST 2016

My wife and I have just enjoyed a gin tasting experience with Robin, an engaging and witty gin connoisseur. You get to sample half a dozen gins from their incredible 400+ gin pantry. We then had an excellent dinner on the terrace and spent the night in one of their very comfortable rooms. Highly recommend.

“Beautiful and relaxing” - AUGUST 2016

Birthday visit; organised gin tasty; great activity; 4 poster room; comfy bed; great service at dinner and good choice of food on the menu; our mains of the fish and guinea fowl were fabulous. best tasting fish we have had for long time. my favourite place is their gin pantry with the many wonderful choices (heaven); breakfast next day was another great choice and very efficient service - the do gin tasting packages on Sundays - but these are popular - we intend to return :)

"Fancy food in a nice setting..." - July 2016

The plough is a good pub, modern but old as well, friendly staff and fancy food, not for budget eaters! Almost luxurious for where it is!

"Gin Night ?" - July 2016

We went here to celebrate my wife's birthday last weekend and went for the fever tree special which included the following;
Making your own Gin £25 towards food each, £10 towards more gin Bed and Breakfast.
The whole experience was amazing, form the wow factor of just turning up and seeing the building to the breakfast with a fuzzy head the next day. The sun shone so we were able to eat out and the food was delicious and the Gin was both copious and tasty although be aware some gins are really quite strong. We will be back and have already recommended it to friends

"Made to feel very welcome" - July 2016

We very much enjoyed our first night away as a family (our son is four months old) and felt well looked after. Having felt a little nervous about how things would work with a baby in tow, it was very reassuring to receive such a friendly welcome from all the staff (and indeed to receive the kind help from Emily in advance of our stay). We enjoyed Champagne afternoon tea in the garden, a gin blending board and dinner. It was all very good and instead of searching for somewhere else to try next time, we will definitely be back! Thank you.

"Lovely place" - July 2016

I booked this hotel for my gran's holiday. It was four of us in two rooms. I had asked one to be set up as a twin room which was no problem. The hotel looks really cute on the outside and the rooms inside are lovely as well. For the first time ever I have received an upgrade on anything. Since this was supposed to be my 75 year old gran's first and last holiday abroad the people at the hotel probably had no idea how much this happy coincidence meant. She loved the room - it was big and bright and clean. It looked really well kept - maybe it's been recently redone.
We ate at the hotel as well. The dinner was good and there was plenty of it. There's an old-looking little pub across the street as well. We went there just for a pint so she could see what the British pubs are all about. The staff were lovely. They helped us take the bags upstairs and everything.
The hotel benefits from the surrounding area as well. There's lots to do - Bibury is a short drive away (super scenic) and we went to cotswolds falconry centre which we really enjoyed.
I would love to stay here again to see more of Cotswolds on a couples holiday so hopefully will be back soon!

"A perfect setting to celebrate a special moment!" - July 2016

IWe chose the Plough to stay with family overnight before our marriage blessing In Bampton, and for a short reception immediately afterwards. From the outset, we were charmed by Martin and his responsive staff. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the reception proved perfect for our needs. Feedback from our guests has been unanimous that they enjoyed themselves as much as we did. Mark and I send a big thank you all who contributed to make this a special moment in our lives and provide us with memories to cherish.